Wanted to take some time out and send a shout out to the wonderful ladies of Zeta Phi Beta on this their Founder’s Day. Zeta Phi Beta was founded on the campus of Howard University on January 16, 1920.

Notable members include: International Zeta President and comedienne Sheryl Underwood, Author Zora Neale Hurston, Actresses Esther Rolle and Ja’net Dubois.

Musical sorors include Sarah Vaughn, Grace Bumbry, Dionne Warwick, Syleena Johnson, Towanda Braxton and Minnie Riperton.

Ivan Orr is a multi-instrumentalist, composer, performer, and writer. A native of Charlottesville, Virginia Ivan was involved with the forming and nascent days of The Music Resource Center as its first Program Director. A graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University’s Department of Music, Ivan currently resides in Richmond, VA where he maintains an active performance and production schedule while serving as the Music Editor for Grown Folks Music, a position he has held since 2010.